Mid-March announcements

Hello Fellow CBSM Section Members!

Here are some post-St. Patrick’s Day announcements.

If you are interested, please propose or submit a short essay (500-700 words) on collective behavior or social movement topics to be part of the Collective Behavior and Social Movements section newsletter, Critical MassCBSMnews@gmail.com If you have not visited the new section website where our newsletter is hosted, please check it out:  https://cbsm-asa.org/category/critical-mass/

1. Job Opportunity, Postdoc, University of Oxford—Michael Biggs.
2.  CFN, Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research—Malaena Taylor.

All the best,

1.  Job Opportunity, Postdoc, University of Oxford—Michael Biggs.

Hulme University Fund and John Fell OUP Research Funding Postdoctoral Fellowship in Sociology University of Oxford -Department of Sociology

Department of Sociology, Manor Road Building, Manor Road, Oxford

Grade 7: £29,837 p.a.

The Department of Sociology in association with Brasenose College is offering a Postdoctoral Fellowship from 1 October 2014 on a full-time fixed-term contract for 3 years.

This post is designed to give a supported experience in a broad range of academic duties, encompassing research, teaching and organising academic initiatives. The fellowship aims to support a scholar of outstanding promise who has completed his or her doctorate and is developing a new academic project.

The role of the fellow will be to engage in research in one or more of the main research streams of the Department of Sociology including analysis of qualitative and/or quantitative data and development and testing of new theories and/or methods. The successful candidate will be expected to publish in highly-ranked, peer-reviewed academic journals and present papers at conferences or public meetings. The fellowship will offer an opportunity to contribute a small amount of teaching and/or supervision to the department   s graduate teaching programmes. The Hulme Postdoctoral Fellow will be a member of the Senior Common Room at Brasenose College for the full duration of the fellowship and expected to contribute to the intellectual life of both the college and department.

Applicants will have completed a doctorate by the date of taking up the fellowship and be at an early stage of an academic career with a commitment to their own professional development and progression to an academic post.

This post will be based in the Department of Sociology, Manor Road Building, Oxford, OX1 3UQ.

Applications for this vacancy are to be made online, quoting reference 112018. To apply for this role and for further details, please click on the link below.


The closing date for applications is 12.00 midday on 11 April 2014.

2.  CFN, Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research—Malaena Taylor.

The 2014 Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research

An annual award of The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

The Mitofsky award honors important work on public opinion and/or survey methodology that has been accomplished, published, or presented at a professional conference. Nominees can include recent work or past work that continues to have a significant impact on our understanding of public opinion. Nominations can be made for a specific project, innovation, conference paper, article or book, or for a larger body of work by a researcher or practitioner. Special consideration will be given to work that is based on data obtained directly from the Roper archives.

The award honors the life and work of the late Warren J. Mitofsky, an innovator in survey research and longtime chair of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research board of directors. The 2013 award winners were political science professors Adam Berinsky of MIT and Eric Schickler of Berkeley who have worked extensively with the Roper Center’s earliest data collections from the 1930s through the 1950s, to make them more accessible for more complete secondary analyses. The past winners include Senior Fellow at NORC Norm Bradburn, political scientist John Mueller, health policy authority Robert Blendon, sociologist Robert Wuthnow, General Social Survey originator, James Davis, and media pollster Kathleen Frankovic.

Anyone can make a nomination (including self-nominations) by submitting a statement that includes the full citation of the work(s), a brief description of the work’s significance and impact, and (if appropriate) its use of the Roper Center’s public opinion data archives. The award carries a cash prize of $1,000 and the winner will be publicly honored at our awards dinner in November.

For full consideration, nominations must be received by April 1, 2014.

Please send nominations electronically to Chairwoman of the Mitofsky Award:

Nancy Belden at Mitofsky-Nominations@ropercenter.org