Calls for Award Nominations

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Mayer N. Zald Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Student Paper Award

Anyone without a PhD in 2015 is considered a student, and any paper (published or unpublished) written in 2015 by a student or students (i.e., no PhD coauthors) is eligible.  A previously submitted paper may be resubmitted only if significantly revised.  Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members. No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  This award includes a $500 prize.  Send a copy of the paper electronically to each of the committee members by March 1, 2016:

Mayer Zald Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award:  Kenneth Andrews (chair), kta1@email.unc.edu; Drew Halfmann, dhalfmann@ucdavis.edu; Catherine Corrigall-Brown, corrigall.brown@ubc.ca ; Robert Braun, rb529@cornell.edu.

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Article Award

Articles and chapters from edited books with publication dates of 2015 are eligible. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send a copy of the article electronically to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2016:

Best Published Article Award James M. Jasper (chair), jjasper@gc.cuny.edu; Neal Caren, neal.caren@unc.edu; Elizabeth Borland, Borland@tcnj.edu; Justin Farrell, justin.farrell@yale.edu 

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Charles Tilly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award

Section members, authors, or publishers may nominate books with publication dates of 2015. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members or publishers.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send or have publishers send a copy of the book to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2016:

Charles Tilly Award for Best Book:  Belinda Robnett (Chair) brobnett@uci.edu, (University of California, School of Social Sciences, Department of Sociology, 3151 Social Science Plaza, Irvine, CA. 92697-5100); Lee Ann Banaszak,lab14@psu.edu, (Department of Political Science, Pennsylvania State University, 31 Pond Lab, University Park, PA 16802); Edward Walker, walker@soc.ucla.edu, (Department of Sociology, University of California, Los Angeles, 228A Haines Hall, Los Angeles, CA. 90095); Katrina Kimport, katrina.kimport@ucsf.edu, (UCSF-ANSIRH, 1330 Broadway, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612)

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Dissertation Award

Any doctoral dissertation completed (i.e. successfully submitted, defended, and approved) in calendar year 2015 is eligible. Only nominations from the student’s dissertation chair or co-chair will be accepted. Nomination letters should not exceed two typed pages in length. The nomination letter should be accompanied by the dissertation in electronic form. Please direct all questions to the committee chair. This award includes a $1,000 prize. Send a copy of the nomination letter and dissertation to each of the committee members by March 1, 2016:

Outstanding Dissertation Award: Wayne Santoro (Chair), wsantoro@unm.edu; Tanya Saunders, saunders.425.osu.edu; Steven Boutcher, boutcher@soc.umass.edu; Melissa Wooten, mwooten@soc.umass.edu

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS

 

Comments are closed.