Call for Award Nominations 2018

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Mayer N. Zald Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Student Paper Award
Anyone without a PhD in 2016 is considered a student, and any paper (published or unpublished) written in 2017 by a student or students (i.e., no PhD coauthors) is eligible.  A previously submitted paper may be resubmitted only if significantly revised.  Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members. No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  $500 will be awarded.  Send a copy of the paper electronically to each of the committee members by March 1, 2018. Winners will be notified by June 1, 2018.

Mayer Zald Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award Committee:
Jo Reger (Chair), reger@oakland.edu
Neal Caron, neal.caren@gmail.com
Lisa Leitz, leitz@chapman.edu
Anya Galli Robertson, anyagalli@gmail.com 

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Article Award
Articles and chapters from edited books with publication dates of 2017 are eligible. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send a copy of the article electronically to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2018:

Best Published Article Award Committee:
Kenneth Andrews (Chair), kta@unc.edu
Amin Ghaziani, amin.ghaziani@ubc.ca
Ziad Munson, munson@lehigh.edu
Paul, Ingram, pi17@gsb.columbia.edu

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Charles Tilly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award
Section members, authors, or publishers may nominate books with publication dates of 2017. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members or publishers.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send or have publishers send a copy of the book to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2018:

Charles Tilly Award for Best Book Committee:
Jennifer Earl (Chair), jenniferearl@email.arizona.edu (School of Sociology, Social Sciences 400, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ 85721)
Edward Walker, walker@soc.ucla.edu (Department of Sociology, UCLA, 264 Haines Hall, Los Angeles, CA 90095)
John Krinsky, jkrinsky.ccny@gmail (Colin Powell School for Civic and Global Leadership, City College of New York, Office NAC 4/138B, 160 Convent Avenue, New York, NY 10031)
Erica Simmons, essimmons@wisc.edu (University of Wisconsin–Madison, 110 North Hall, 1050 Bascom Mall, Madison, WI 53706)

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Dissertation Award
Any doctoral dissertation completed (i.e. successfully submitted, defended, and approved) in calendar year 2017 is eligible. Only nominations from the student’s dissertation chair or co-chair will be accepted. Nomination letters should not exceed two typed pages in length. The nomination letter should be accompanied by the dissertation in electronic form. Please direct all questions to the committee chair. $1,000 will be awarded. Send a copy of the nomination letter and dissertation to each of the committee members by March 1, 2018:

Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee:
Kyle Dodson (Chair), kdodson2@ucmerced.edu
Deana Rohlinger, drohling@fsu.edu
Alison Adams, alison.adams@ufl.edu
Yang Zhang, yangz@american.edu

Comments are closed.