Award Nominations for 2020

Announcing the Collective Behavior and Social Movements call for award nominations for 2020. Please read on for details on qualifications, submission process, and award committee memberships.

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Mayer N. Zald Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Student Paper Award

Current students, as well as those who received their PhD in 2019 or later, are eligible. Any paper (published or unpublished) written in 2019 by a student or students (i.e., no PhD coauthors) is eligible. The committee will accept only one submission per student. A previously submitted paper may be resubmitted only if significantly revised. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members. No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  $250 will be awarded.  Send a copy of the paper electronically to each of the committee members by March 1, 2020. Winners will be notified by June 1, 2020.

Mayer Zald Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award Committee:

  • Rachel Einwohner (chair): einwohnerr@purdue.edu
  • Paul Almeida: palmeida@ucmerced.edu
  • Lisa Leitz: leitz@chapman.edu
  • Grace Yukich: grace.yukich@quinnipiac.edu

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Article Award

Articles and chapters from edited books with publication dates of 2019 are eligible. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send a copy of the article or chapter electronically to each member of the committee by March 1, 2020:

Distinguished Contribution Article Award Committee:

  • Jo Reger (chair): reger@oakland.edu 
  • Amin Ghaziani: amin.ghaziani@ubc.ca 
  • Selina Gallo-Cruz: sgallo@holycross.edu
  • Yan Long: longyan@berkeley.edu

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Charles Tilly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award

Section members, authors, or publishers may nominate books with publication dates of 2019. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members or publishers.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair, Dina Okamoto, dokamoto@indiana.edu.  Send or have publishers send a copy of the book to each member of the award committee by March 1, 2020:

Charles Tilly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award committee:

  • Dina Okamoto, Chair, Department of Sociology, 1020 E Kirkwood Ave
  • Ballantine Hall 702, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405-7103
  • Sharon Erickson Nepstad, UNM Department of Sociology and Criminology, MSC05 3080, 1915 Roma NE Ste. 1103, Albuquerque NM 87131-0001
  • Amanda Pullum, School of Social, Behavioral & Global Studies, CSU Monterey Bay, 100 Campus Center, Seaside, CA 93955
  • Tamara L. Mix, Dresser Professor and Department Head, Oklahoma State University, Department of Sociology, 431 Murray Hall, Stillwater, OK 74078

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Dissertation Award

Any doctoral dissertation completed (i.e. successfully submitted, defended, and approved) in calendar year 2019 is eligible. Only nominations from the student’s dissertation chair or co-chair will be accepted. Nomination letters should not exceed two typed pages in length. The nomination letter should be accompanied by the dissertation in electronic form. Please direct all questions to the committee chair. Send a copy of the nomination letter and dissertation to each of the committee members by March 1, 2020:

Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee:

  • Caroline Lee (chair): leecw@lafayette.edu
  • Nicole Fox: nicole.fox@csus.edu
  • Thomas Maher: thomasvmaher@purdue.edu
  • Anjuli Fahlberg: Anjuli.Fahlberg@tufts.edu