Award Nominations 2019

Announcing the Collective Behavior and Social Movements call for award nominations for 2019. Please read on for details on qualifications, submission process, and award committee memberships.

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Mayer N. Zald Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Student Paper Award

Anyone without a PhD in 2017 is considered a student, and any paper (published or unpublished) written in 2018 by a student or students (i.e., no PhD coauthors) is eligible.  A previously submitted paper may be resubmitted only if significantly revised.  Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members. No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  $250 will be awarded.  Send a copy of the paper electronically to each of the committee members by March 1, 2019. Winners will be notified by June 1, 2019.

Mayer Zald Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award Committee:

  • Tina Fetner (chair):
  • Selina Gallo-Cruz:
  • John Krinsky: jkrinsky.ccny@gmail
  • Chloe Haimson:

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Article Award

Articles and chapters from edited books with publication dates of 2018 are eligible. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send a copy of the article or chapter electronically to each member of the committee by March 1, 2019:

Distinguished Contribution Article Award Committee:

  • Jennifer Earl (chair):
  • Dina G. Okam0to:
  • Lisa Leitz:
  • Yao Lu:

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Charles Tilly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award

Section members, authors, or publishers may nominate books with publication dates of 2018. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members or publishers.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send or have publishers send a copy of the book to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2019:

Charles Tilly Award for Best Book Committee:

  • Jo Reger (chair):, Department of Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work and Criminal Justice, Oakland University, 516 Varner Hall, 331 Varner Drive, Rochester, MI 48306
  • Ziad Munson: (Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Lehigh University, 31 Williams Drive, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania 18015)
  • Amin Ghaziani: (Department of Sociology, University of British Columbia, 6303 NW Marine Drive, Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z1)
  • Chris Zepeda-Millán: (UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs, 6383 Public Affairs, 3250 Public Affairs Building, Los Angeles, CA 90095)

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Dissertation Award

Any doctoral dissertation completed (i.e. successfully submitted, defended, and approved) in calendar year 2018 is eligible. Only nominations from the student’s dissertation chair or co-chair will be accepted. Nomination letters should not exceed two typed pages in length. The nomination letter should be accompanied by the dissertation in electronic form. Please direct all questions to the committee chair. Send a copy of the nomination letter and dissertation to each of the committee members by March 1, 2019:

Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee:

  • Drew Halfmann (chair):
  • Ana Velitchkova:
  • Dana Moss:
  • Michelle Oyakawa: