RSVP: McCarthy Award 2019

Invitation to McCarthy Award Ceremony Honoring Suzanne Staggenborg (RSPV Now!)

The Notre Dame Center for the Study of Social Movements cordially invites you to attend events in honor of Suzanne Staggenborg.  Suzanne will receive the John D. McCarthy Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Scholarship of Social Movements and Collective Behavior on May 4, 2019.

It is truly a pleasure to honor Suzanne with this award and I hope that you will be able to join us to celebrate her many accomplishments. All you need to do is let us know that you plan to attend and we will reserve a spot for you at the table (no charge for admission—the food and wine are on us!).

Award events will take place at the University of Notre Dame on Saturday, May 4, 2019:

  • 4:30 p.m. Public lecture by Suzanne Staggenborg.  1030 Jenkins/Nanovic Hall.
  • 6:30 p.m. Dinner, award ceremony, and toasts honoring Suzanne.  The Lifetime Achievement award will be presented by Rory McVeigh, Director of the Center for Study of Social Movements.  Special toasts will be offered by John McCarthy, David Meyer, David Pettinicchio, Jo Reger, and Verta Taylor.  The dinner and ceremony will be held in the Forum of Jenkins/Nanovic Hall.

If you are planning to attend, please send an email RSVP by April 2, 2019 to

Rory McVeigh

Director, Center for the Study of Social Movements

University of Notre Dame